Since its foundation in 2011, Cantus Magnus has given premieres of works by several composers, including Marco Galvani (b. 1994), Peter Kwasniewski (b. 1971), and Pietro Amico Giacobetti (fl. 1579–1616).

We actively promote and commission new music: if you would like to write for Cantus Magnus, please contact us here.

We also support a composition prize for young composers – see below.

Composition Prize

The Trustees of the Schellhorn Trust are pleased to announce the 2020 Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition competition.

Classical pianist Matthew Schellhorn founded the prize in 2014 in memory of his parents to foster artistic endeavour and encourage excellence in the Sacred Liturgy. The inaugural Prize was awarded in 2015 and was won by Marco Galvani.

The Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition competition is announced for 2020 and will be held in December with the winning entry performed on Christmas Eve.

The panel of judges for the 2020 Prize will include:
Founder and Chairman Matthew Schellhorn writes: “The Covid-19 situation has seen a hugely detrimental effect on the arts sector, and musicians have been amongst the most adversely impacted. I hope this prize will provide an incentive to be creative and to build up a working relationship with other professional musicians as we support each other.”

The Schellhorn Prize for Sacred Music Composition is supported by The Latin Mass Society of England and Wales.

Guidance for entry

What does the Prize offer?
  • One £400 prize will be awarded in 2020.
  • The winner will also have his or her composition performed by a professional choir in the context of the Sacred Liturgy of the Catholic Church according to the Missal promulgated by Pope Saint John XXIII in 1962.
  • In 2020, the composition will be performed during Mass on Christmas Eve at St Mary Moorfields Catholic Church in the City of London. (Should the Covid-19 situation preclude this performance, another performance opportunity will be arranged.)
Who is it open to?
  • Composers aged between 18 and under 30 or under on the closing date, regardless of nationality, who are studying, or have studied, at any conservatoire or university in England or Wales.
What are the entrance requirements?
  • A piece for a cappella SATB choir (four parts, non-dividing) using any Latin Eucharistic or Christmas-themed text (excluding the text of the Mass) must be submitted with the completed application form.
  • The piece should be no longer than 5 minutes long and should not have received its premiere.
  • The piece should be accompanied by a copy of the text and a summary in no more than 200 words of the work's artistic rationale.
  • Proof of age and of educational status from your place of study are also required.
How do I apply?
  • Download an entry form below.
  • Applications must be made on the official form and emailed to the address given.
  • As a contribution to the administrative costs of the award, an entrance fee of £5 per piece is payable.
  • Members of the Latin Mass Society and those in full time education at the closing date are not required to pay the entrance fee.
When is the next closing date?
  • Entries should be submitted by Monday 7th December 2020 at 5pm.
When will the winner be announced?
  • The Winner (and Honourable Mentions if applicable) will be announced on Monday 14th December 2020.
Entry form

Previous competitions

The Schellhorn Trust

The Schellhorn Trust was founded in January 2015 as a small charity with the aims of advancing the education of the public in the subject of music. Its trustees are:
  • Matthew Schellhorn
  • Benna Schellhorn
  • Vivienne Stubbs
The Trust is a member of the Small Charities Coalition and Charity Trustee Network and is recognised as a charity for tax purposes by H.M. Revenue and Customs under Paragraph 1, Schedule 6 of the Finance Act 2010.

All donations are gratefully received and can be made with gift aid benefits. Please use the button below or contact us.
Slider play pause